Tips For Casting

I went for a TV commercial ad casting last week. It was an unexpected plan. I got a message from my modelling agent telling me that I have short listed for a TVC.

It was a 2 days event, I went straight after confirmed with him that I can go on the same day as I need to go back to Seremban after that.

During casting, I have to admit that I felt a little bit nervous, but I managed to control my emotion. Before this, I have done a several casting for modelling / TV commercial ad. So despite of my earlier nervous, i can handle it very fast and flung myself into the acting.

So are you getting ready for a casting? Frozen in front of your bathroom mirror with a disgruntled expression? Here are a few secret tips that I feel very essential to help you prepare for your first casting!

The 3 P’s – Preparation + Practise = Perfection!

Preparation:

No-one likes to do home-work! But it could be the difference between you getting the job or falling flat on your face! E.g. I once attended a casting for a corporate brand. It was to showcase their corporate office attire. Anyway, I rocked up to the studio feeling sure I had it in the bag! Walked through the door…….. and everyone was in coat and suit! And there is me standing in the middle of the room pretty much from head to toe representing every one of the primary colours with shorts and tee! The moral of the story is to make sure you do your research on the client – what palettes do they use? – What past models have they booked? – What look/style do they lean towards? All these facts should determine how you approach your casting! – What you wear and how you hold yourself! A casting is a as much a presentation as it is an interview. Here are a few tips on how to best present yourself at a basic casting!

– What to wear?! – Keep it basic and neutral (think blank canvas) also wear clothes that show off your silhouette! (No point in turning up to a models’ casting dressed head to toe in the latest outside tent from Argos!). Be presentable and attractive.🙂

– How to present yourself?! – Firm handshake! Let them know you mean business! Don’t pull away until they do! Unless of course you end up standing there squeezing their hand for ten minutes and creating an uncomfortable atmosphere! Keep your chin level with the floor and your shoulders back and relaxed and walk with a purpose! Be confident!

– What to say?! – If they ask you to stand in-front of a camera and tell them your name and about yourself! – don’t stand there and tell them ‘my name is Dixy and I live in KL’ you should say something unique about yourself like ‘My name is Dixy and I can put 3 buns in my mouth at one time’ you need to create that lasting impression so when they are looking back at the videos they say ‘oh yer . . . . the bun girl’! No-one is going to remember ‘Dixy from KL’.

Practise:

So this is the fun bit!! Well it’s my favourite part of preparing for a casting as it is up to you how you go about it!

– Make use of the mirrors in the house – every time I pass a mirror (in the house or even in a store!) I ‘STRIKE A POSE’! This will enable you to get a feel for the versatility they look for in a casting!

– Every time the camera goes off in a casting they are looking for versatility and ability so change your facial expression and pose!

– Or if you are a dancer or an actor/actress then play to your strengths and you will probably have a leg up (so to speak) on how to move in front of the camera. Film yourself for 5 mins doing what you do best! And pick certain forms and shapes out and incorporate them into a pose.

GOOD LUCK!

On the way to casting~

20130401-170953.jpg

After casting, back to home sweet home in Seremban~

20130401-171025.jpg

Leave a Reply

