Steve Jobs Resigns As Apple CEO

On August 24, 2011, Steve Jobs announced his resignation from the helm of Apple, which he co-founded from his family garage in 1976.

He created Apple (with the Woz), was pushed out, and came back to save the company when it was teetering on the edge of bankruptcy. With Steve’s guidance, Apple has become one of the world’s great companies, changing every industry it touched.

Jobs will remain with the company as chairman of Apple’s board of directors.

Apple has not released any new information about the state of Jobs’ health. The 56-year-old went on medical leave in January, and he has suffered serious health problems in recent years, including pancreatic cancer and a reported liver transplant.

Jobs also took a somber tone in his resignation letter:

“I have always said if there ever came a day when I could no longe
r meet my duties and expectations as Apple’s CEO, I would be the first to let you know,” he wrote in a letter to Apple’s board and the Apple community at large. “Unfortunately, that day has come.”

“I hereby resign as CEO of Apple. I would like to serve, if the Board sees fit, as Chairman of the Board, director and Apple employee. As far as my successor goes, I strongly recommend that we execute our succession plan and name Tim Cook as CEO of Apple. I believe Apple’s brightest and most innovative days are ahead of it. And I look forward to watching and contributing to its success in a new role. I have made some of the best friends of my life at Apple, and I thank you all for the many years of being able to work alongside you.” He added in the letter.

Now… Let’s all pray for Steve Jobs. Struggling against cancer since 2004. Let’s all pray hard for Steve Jobs’ health! Seriously, i pray Steve Jobs will FINE; i pray Apple will FINE!!

Leave a Reply

